The Authentic and the Inauthentic

¡Bravo!

Frank Davis

Back when I used to read newspapers, I’d always head straight for the opinion pieces and the letters pages. The rest of the newspaper was relatively uninteresting news. It was a delight to find an opinion piece by Bernard Levin in the Times in the early 1970s, and an opinion piece by Jill Tweedie in the Guardian a decade later. It wasn’t that I necessarily agreed with what they had to say. It was that I agreed with them saying it. I wanted them to speak their minds, say what they thought. I wanted to listen to their authentic voices.

I have had the same experience with the rise of the blogosphere, in which more or less every blog is someone’s authentic voice, very often with a number of authentic voices in the comments beneath, agreeing or disagreeing.

And I think that maybe the media war being fought in the…

Ver la entrada original 948 palabras más

Esta entrada fue publicada en Contra la ley antitabaco. Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

