Never-ending War

Frank Davis

These days I see myself as being a footsoldier in a war. I used not to think I was a soldier, because I didn’t think I was in a war. But eventually, after a while, I slowly learned that there was a war in progress, and that I was a soldier in that war.

The war I found out that I was fighting in has been going on for 400 years at least, and maybe 500 years, or even more. It’s a never-ending war.

As far as I know, the war started when newly-discovered tobacco began to be exported from America to Europe, along with all sorts of other newly-discovered commodities in the New World of the Americas. And the war was between those who liked to smoke tobacco, and those who hated it: the war was between smokers and antismokers. Sir Walter Raleigh was one of the earliest smokers…

Ver la entrada original 1.217 palabras más

Esta entrada fue publicada en Contra la ley antitabaco. Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

